Let’s talk about how sympathetic I’m not.

It’s pretty shameful, actually.  If my son is sick or hurt I stop everything, hold him, read him stories, drug him up so he can sleep, let him watch T.V. and  I am all about it baby boy!  My husband is sick – seriously, dude, can you PLEASE hack quieter so I can sleep?  Also, BLOW YOUR NOSE!  I hate sniffing, it’s so annoying.  

Although let’s get real – I DO bring him tea and soup and try to talk him into staying home from work so he can sleep.  But still.

Today the pollen count in Virginia is an 11.5 on a scale of 1-12 and Jeremy has recently begun to suffer from ridiculously horrible allergies.  When he came home from work his eyes were so red it looked like a chemical burn, and he literally never stopped rubbing them except when he was driving – no exaggeration.  But no, he would not use eye-drops because “it feels weird and I don’t like it” but apparently burning, itching, dry eyes feels way awesomer.  So while we were walking around Wal-mart and I was booking it at mom-with-two-kids-get-it-done-before-the-meltdown-speed Jeremy was stopping every .387 inches to rub his eyes and I was getting really, really annoyed.

So annoyed, in fact, that as soon as we got home my first stop after calming down screaming baby and showing Malachi how to climb into the new storage bins because he wouldn’t stop crying and saying “bub” which clearly was code for “Take the lids out of that awesome toy and help me in!” was to grab the eye drops and forcibly spray them into Jeremy’s eyes all while telling him how he was such a baby and PLEASE BE STILL AND STOP CLOSING YOUR EYES!  

And now he is outside digging up grass and dandelions and pollen and allergens for my garden and it’s 9:00 at night and I’m sitting here holding my baby and reading blogs and watching T.V.  So I’ll try to do better in the future, babe, because I love you.

Even when you are a wimp.

5 thoughts on “Let’s talk about how sympathetic I’m not.

  1. Oh now, THIS made me laugh ALOT outloud! I even have a few tears at the corners of my eyes from laughing so hard! and poor Jeremy! So sad and I love how you love him anyways!

  2. Pingback: The day that was really enough the first time, thanks. | authenticisms

Leave a Reply

