7 Quick Takes

What. Is. Up. (Answer: Naomi at 6soontobe5:30 in the morning if I can’t get this daylight savings thing under control) Joining Jen and everbuddy else.

  1. Last weekend we drove to NC to visit my family and head to the state fair. I think I was the most excited both pre- and post-fair activities and if you know my husband you know that Jeremy excited looks about like this. I love the fair. And I especially love the fair in October because you can enjoy rides and hushpuppies and animals and games and people-watching with zero chance of melting. Riding rides with Malachi is THE best and watching my dad try to cram into a ride designed for 3-feet-tallers and not 6-feet-tallers might have been the second best. I also decided to play awkward third wheel to my brother and his girlfriend and ride a couple rides with them and if there is one thing I took away from that experience it is this: I am old. Maybe 26 doesn’t seem that old to you but if you measure age in life experiences rather than years a la Bella and Jacob (team Edward forever!) I’d say having two babies and averaging 5 hours of broken up sleep per night makes me approximately: too old for this crap.
    Oh, you’re bored? K, here’s some cute:

    .Image
    .
  2. Need more cute? Gotcha covered. Yesterday was Halloween and I was soooooo excited about Malachi’s costume. He is an avid Curious George fan and even though I don’t care much for him or his monochromatic friend, this was pretty much the cutest costume ever:

    Image
    This was my inspiration and judging by the two random people who took pictures of Malachi and the multiple people who said he had their favorite costume of the night and the kids who excitedly said “It’s Yellow Man!” I’d say it was a success. We are pretty hard core because we hit up the Costume Parade at the library, a local trunk or treat, the mall trick-or-treat, and the ginormous festival at Thomas Road. Jeremy and I were pretty disappointed in the candy selection (i.e. 1 million tootsie rolls) but otherwise it was great. Naomi was a roley-poly, fluffy pink cat:
    Image
    And about 20 minutes before we had to leave I decided I really, really wanted to dress up. I considered gypsy, hippie, and Rosie the Riveter before a stroke of GENIUS hit me and Jeremy and I went as Sheldon and Amy. Yes we did. And even though the chick at the mall totally cut off our perfect shoe choices (chucks and hideous Mary Janes that yes, I do still wear [hides head in shame]), you get the idea:
    Image
    .
  3. The other day I was at Goodwill and there was a group of crazysuperannoying college girls buying ugly rooster pillows for their apartment and they all had on yoga pants, oversized sweatshirts, and sneakers. It seemed only slightly strange until I saw another group of girls who all had on leggings, blue plaid shirts, boots, and cardigans. Like, is this a thing?
    .
  4. More mom talk! Hooray! I’m just going to give a quick shout-out to Malachi for doing a really super great job at potty training. He finally bit the bullet and actually peed at pre-school the other day instead of holding it for four hours straight and that was a big milestone. So far he has done his bidness in a mini-potty, on the big potty, in a porta-potty, in public potties, outside on the grass, in a blue plastic cup (don’t ask) and only a few times in his clothes. Although I would seriously like to know why he wets himself less than he… well…. number twos himself. For real, what is up with that?
    Image
    .
  5. Well you can tell it’s been too long since I’ve blogged because I just can’t stop talking about my kids or kid-related things. I’d just like to take a moment to shamelessly brag on myself for getting (and publicly thank my friend for telling me about) the deal of the CENTURY on toys. I got alllllll this…..
    Image
    140 (one-hundred forty) dollars worth of toys for, drumroll please…. badabadabadabadabaaa…. 15 dollars! When I accidentally left this out and Malachi saw it he of course bee-lined it for the toys I got Naomi for Christmas so…. that should be fun. Anyway, high-quality, non-dollar store stocking stuffers here I come! Now if only I could get the rest of my Christmas shopping done.
    .
  6. I’d also like to congratulate Naomi on making it an entire week without a bruise. Can babies bruise? Because judging by the roughly 930275894275832750832 she has bit it this week, you’d think she’d be pretty much black and blue. I’ve never seen a baby fall over or slam into stuff so much and it’s totally because she is just ON THE MOVE and will NOT be slowed down. She wants to walk and run and crawl and beat up her brother and darn it if she isn’t close. The nice thing is how quickly she gets over it. Malachi was mu-huch more sensitive than her.
    .
  7. Let’s make number 7 inappropriate because… why not. I remember when I used to think I had a successful day as a mother when I did something aMAZing like walk from one end of the house to the other while still nursing Malachi or, I don’t know, fold all the laundry during nap. Yesterday I arrived. I peed in a public restroom while baby-wearing and wearing a high-waisted skirt AND tights and managed to re-dress myself without moving her and she didn’t cry and yes. This is motherhood.

You’re welcome.

One thought on “7 Quick Takes

  1. Pingback: The day that was really enough the first time, thanks. | authenticisms

Leave a Reply

